Start Romanticizing Your Life

Oftentimes in this social media filled society, we are obsessed with looking on other Instagram feeds and comparing our lives to theirs. We see our favorite influencers posting photos in beautiful clothes and traveling to beautiful places. We see people’s perfect college experiences, perfect relationships, perfect friend groups.

And we feel like we fall short.

My encouragement to you today is to focus on developing a visionary mindset.

Do what makes you feel happy and at peace. You are the main character in your personal life. Wake up, do your devotions, and make your favorite coffee.

I’ve been applying this concept of romanticizing my life so much lately and it has been an amazing coping mechanism during these rough times. I’ve always felt so annoyed about living in Indiana- but now I find that I am grateful for Indiana summers. This is probably my last one here, and I want to enjoy the Midwest while I finish up my last few months living here. I’ll always come home to visit, but I may never live in the state of Indiana again. So at night, I look to the sky and enjoy the sunsets only Indiana can offer. I enjoy my walks where I can look at the lakes. I go to the local ice cream places and listen to country music. I embrace the peace that only small-town living can bring.

Learn to embrace where you are at this very moment and appreciate it while you still can. Someday, it won’t be yours to enjoy anymore. Though God is constantly pulling us towards new, better chapters; he never says to only focus on the new chapters. He wants us to appreciate where we are right now and love the chapter to the fullest.

If you can’t find beauty around you, check your mindset, and be intentional on shifting it. I often hate the colder months and long for sunnier days. But who knows how often I’ll see snow again or curl up by a warm fireplace.

Be grateful when you wake up and maintain your best positive mindset, it will serve you well in the long run.

Author: camixdahms

Hello! I am a lifestyle blogger and college student. I hope you'll stick around :)

7 thoughts on “Start Romanticizing Your Life”

Leave a comment